2020 Pinhard Trophy Winner – Alicia Robinson


Pinhard Trophy  – 2020 Winner Alicia Robinson

The Sunbeam MCC is delighted to announce that 19 year old Trials Rider Alicia Robinson has been adjudged winner of The Pinhard Trophy for 2020. 

This is one of the UK’s most prestigious awards, the giant 3-gallon cup having been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

In a difficult and truncated season Alicia competed in France, Spain and Andorra (where she picked up a puncture). Despite this she claimed Runner-Up position in the Trial 2 Women’s World Championship. The Judges were particularly impressed by her efforts to help out in the community. She has a part time job at her local Tesco store and throughout lockdown she kept working, keeping the shelves stocked and providing essential items to those in need.

 Alicia’s response to learning that she will receive the Pinhard Trophy this year was “Thank you so much for selecting me to receive the Pinhard Prize. It was such a lovely surprise to find out I have won particularly with my Birthday and Christmas coming up. I felt like I have worked extremely hard over the past year, both in the gym and on the bike, so to be awarded this prize makes me feel like the hard work is starting to pay off. Best wishes to the Judges and Sunbeam MCC.

I’d like to say a massive thank you to all my sponsors and family for their support to help me achieve my dreams especially during this global pandemic.”

Alicia faced stiff competition and voting was extremely close.  Normally presentation is at the ACU Awards Dinner in January but this year it will be at an event venue in the early spring.

Previous winners are a list of motorcycling greats over the last 70 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Bill Martin, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Scott Ellis, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names. Last year’s winner was Trials Rider Toby Martyn.

Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club. 

Judges were editors of leading motorcycle periodicals, General Secretary of the ACU, President of Sunbeam MCC and 2 officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC. 

You might also like