James Dabill (Beta)

To close the 2018 ACU British Trials Championship, the action moved to the Bob Macgregor trial at Tootherick Quarry in Scotland for the final two rounds.

This excellent off-road facility used by the East Lothian Motorcycle Club has a large mixture of terrain varying from man-made hazards to the more natural ones found in this part of the world. The challenging test of the twelve hazards was to be ridden over three laps and was carried out on both days in typical cold and wet autumnal weather.

James Dabill (Beta)

On day one, James Dabill knew that a top three finish would give him his eighth British Championship title, but his day could have not started any worse as he incurred a five-mark penalty on the very first hazard. This gave the younger riders a confidence boost and at the close of the first lap it was Toby Martyn holding the lead, with Dabill down in sixth position.

Toby Martyn (RG Montesa/HondaUK)

On the second lap the fight back begun as Dabill moved up to third and with a good last lap parting with just a single mark, he ended the first day in third position to take his eighth British Championship title. Toby Martyn took the win with a very happy Jack Peace in second.

With the championship secured, James Dabill was absent on day two as he travelled to the Beta factory in Italy. This left the door open for an intense battle between the day one victor, Toby Martyn, and Jack Price.

Jack Price (JST Gas Gas UK)

Price took the lead at the close of the opening lap after Martyn stopped in the final hazard. With a slender advantage, Price parted with just two single marks in the second lap, while Martyn failed to master the final hazard.

Jack Peace (JST Inch Perfect Gas Gas UK)

The pressure was now on Price and his final lap, he rode well and lost only three marks, while Martyn tried to hunt him down with a clear passage of all twelve hazards, but it was too late, as Price won the eighth round with a four-mark advantage.

James Dabill: “I started the event in the worst possible way with the five-mark penalty and did not ride anywhere near my usual standard over the opening twelve hazards.

After the disastrous first lap I found some rhythm in my riding on the second lap which moved me back into a championship winning position. On the third and final lap I was happy to part with just a single mark to take the 2018 title.

This season we have travelled the length and breadth of the country taking in a wide variety of terrain varying from mud, rivers and rocks. The choice of the Michelin X-Light tyre at every round has once again inspired confidence in my riding, which has enabled me to claim the championship by winning six out of the seven rounds in which I competed.”

Round 7

1: Toby Martyn (RG Montesa/Honda UK) 12; 2: Jack Peace (JST Gas Gas UK) 14; 3: James Dabill (Beta) 20; 4: Dan Peace (JST Gas Gas UK) 27; 5: Jack Price (JST Gas Gas UK) 27; 6: Jack Sheppard (MRS Sherco) 33; 7: Tom Minta (BMS Scorpa) 60; 8: Andy Chilton (BMS Andy Metcalfe Scorpa) 66; 9: Billy Green (Beta-UK) 74; 10: Iwan Roberts (TRS UK) 78.

Day Two Podium: Toby Martyn – Jack Price – Jack Peace

Round 8

1: Jack Price (JST Gas Gas UK) 9; 2: Toby Martyn (RG Montesa/Honda UK) 13; 3: Jack Peace (JST Gas Gas UK) 24; 4: Jack Sheppard (MRS Sherco) 25; 5: Dan Peace (JST Gas Gas UK) 32; 6: Iwan Roberts (TRS UK) 45; 7: Billy Green (Beta-UK) 63; 8: Andy Chilton (BMS Andy Metcalfe Scorpa) 64; 9: Tom Minta (BMS Scorpa) 91; 10: Hugo Jervis (TRS UK) 103.

2018 Final Championship Positions

1: James Dabill (Beta) 135; 2: Jack Price (JST Gas Gas UK) 129; 3: Toby Martyn (RG Montesa/Honda UK) 111; 4: Dan Peace (JST Gas Gas UK) 110; 5: Jack Peace (JST Gas Gas UK) 99; 6: Jack Sheppard (MRS Sherco) 84; 7: Andy Chilton (BMS/Andy Metcalfe Scorpa) 66; 8: Tom Minta (BMS Scorpa) 56; 9: Iwan Roberts (TRS UK) 51; 10: Billy Green (Beta-UK) 48; 11: Sam Connor (Beta-UK) 24; 12: Hugo Jervis (TRS UK) 23; 13: Jack Challoner (Craigs Montesa) 20; 14: Dec Bullock (Gas Gas) 20; 15: Alexz Wigg (JST Gas Gas UK) 16.



You might also like