#Flashback 2008 Scott Trial

Graham Jarvis is approaching the end of an illustrious trials career which has seen him win at every level of the sport on both the national and international stage. His close friend and mentor Malcolm Rathmell has been at his side on this motorcycling adventure all the way and he himself has won this extreme event on six occasions. Irish trials legend Sammy Miller holds seven wins, a record which has stood the test of time. Needing every advantage to take win number eight Jarvis swapped to the lighter two-stroke Sherco for this year’s event instead of his usual four-stroke mount. He did not disappoint taking a close win from youngster James Dabill. A new record of eight wins will re-write the history books setting a new challenge for the younger generation of trials riders in this fantastic sporting event.

This Copyright belongs to – Words: John Hulme

Copyright all belong to – Pictures: Andrew Stewart, Mike Rapley and John Hulme

A cold and overcast morning met the 200 riders at the start of the 2008 Scott trial at Marske. Early reports from the course plotters were that the moors were very wet in comparison to last year with more rain due during the day. On paper this year’s event promised to be a cracker with Graham Jarvis and Beta factory number one rider Dougie Lampkin in the starting entry. Lampkin took the win from Jarvis last year but they had the added attraction of Japan’s world number three rider Takahisa Fujinami entered on the factory Montesa. James Dabill had the measure of the event having ridden it for a few years and was expected to go well along with quiet man Ian Austermuhle. The starters flag dropped at nine ‘o’clock to the sound of music to the crowds ears as Dennis Pitts fired off on his 250cc B.S.A Sunbeam followed by local rider Mark Sunter on his twin shock 1972 Bultaco, some riders really do like a challenge! The first riders to arrive at petrol check number one were enduro specialist Julian Harvey and local man Richard Ridley just before ten ‘o’clock. Judging by the colour of the men and machines it was pretty wet and muddy out on the course. Of the potential winners Dabill arrived on the Montesa first looking fit and fresh just before team mate Alexz Wigg, Jarvis came in just behind them. ‘Fujigas’ came hurtling into the petrol stop nearly skidding off the machine as the old adrenalin kicked in, he fuelled up and disappeared. Another fancied runner, Michael Brown on the Beta, was riding with a recent back injury but looked quite fresh taking on fuel for both man and machine.

Lampkins out!

Extreme event specialist and previous Scott winner Wayne Braybrook arrived with the news that he had passed a stranded Dougie Lampkin just after the Orgate splash section high on the moors. The Beta had suffered engine problems which put Lampkin out of the event; we knew we’d have a new winner! As the trial gathers momentum the speed merchants going for the fastest time and overall win soon found themselves at the front of the entry. A good measure of who is going quickly is when the first man appears off the famous ‘Grouse Moor’ into the petrol check. This year it was number three; that man Ridley at exactly 12:20. One minute later it was Dabill who came into sight on the four-stroke Montesa with Jarvis at 12:22, Fujinami followed at 12:26. With all riders splattered from head to foot in wet mud, the race was on. Just up from the petrol check are the three sections aptly named By-Pass. Ask any Scott trial regular and they will tell you these sections are hard work, not the most difficult but when you are tired mistakes are made, not for the top riders though as they negotiated the rocks and steps in the deep water. Jarvis fought the machine up which sounded well off tune. To keep muck and water out of the Sherco he had placed to much tape around the air filter inlet, the machine was working fine it just could not breathe, try putting your hand over your mouth and start running! The fact that he cleaned the sections is testament to his amazing ability. For the rest of the entry these sections are always hard work as many spectacular crashes were witnessed on the rocks, this is when the trial begins to hurt as the riders begin to tire. Alexz Wigg had been well on the pace to this point but a broken back brake pushed him down the finishing order.

Nearly Home

Reels Head is an open exposed rocky outcrop ridden on the outward lap of the trial as well as on the way home. High above the village of Reeth the steep sections nearly cost Jarvis the trial. Dabill arrived first looking very confident taking a few seconds to pause for breath. He took a quick look up the section before executing the perfect clean. Jarvis on the other hand arrived looking very tired. His attempt at the section was quite ragged as he crashed into the top step, he made a huge effort to rescue the situation, we see the observer record a three and little did we know at the time how important this would be. “Fuji” looked very tired but put in a world class ride for a clean hanging on to the Montesa all the way up the section. Dabill arrived first looking calm and collected at the finish to set standard time as the first man back reporting a trouble free day. Jarvis was looking shattered convinced that the eight would not be his. What can you say about the Japanese newcomer Fuji? He literally stepped off his bike at the finish to be greeted by U.K Montesa importer Caroline Sandiford explaining he was “dead”. It was a sterling effort and one he should be proud of. Asked if he will return for 2009 to try for the win, he laughed and replied “for sure, no problem.” This famous time and observation event had once again lived up to its reputation as the best one day trial in the world. The Richmond Motor Club and everybody associated with it should be very proud of themselves; it was an excellent day out!

James Dabill (Montesa)
Ian Austermuhle (Beta-UK)
Takahisa Fujinami (Repsol Honda-JPN)
Wayne Braybrook (JST Gas Gas-UK)
Team Truck @www.trialmaguk.com


Time   Obs    Total

1: Graham Jarvis (Sherco)               6         39      45

2: James Dabill (Montesa)                0         47      47

3: Ian Austermuhle (Beta)              31         47      78

4: Takahisa Fujinami (Montesa)    15         69      84

5: Wayne Braybrook (Gas Gas)     30         62      92

6: Michael Brown (Beta)                 42       61   103

7: Ben Hemingway (Beta)             31          77   108

8: Sam Haslam (Gas Gas)              59         55   114

9: Dan Thorpe (Gas Gas)            60       65     125

10: James Lampkin (Beta)           77       59   136

11: Ross Danby (Gas Gas)    52         90   142

12: Alexz Wigg (Montesa)               51         98   149

13: Liam Walker (Gas Gas)    78         77   149

14: Sam Ludgate (Beta)                    72          87   159

15: Craig Robinson (Gas Gas)         54       106   160

16: Martin Crosswaite (Montesa)     93         76    169

17: Lee Sampson (Sherco)               73       99   172

18: Chris Pearson (Sherco)             65       107   172

19: John Sunter (Montesa)              90          89   179

20: Richard Gaskell (Scorpa))           81         101 182

21: Stephen Dixon (Scorpa)             111      71     182

22: Harold Crawford (Montesa)        65         118   183

23: Philip Alderson (Gas Gas)          82       105   187

24: James Fry (Sherco)                    66       124   190

25: Jonny Walker (Gas Gas)           75         117   192

26: Nathan Wrigglesworth (Scorpa) 98         117   192

200 starters with 60 finishers in the allocated time allowance was the final result.

All the copyright works of this article including pictures belong to: www.trialmaguk.com




You might also like