Irish Experts Trial



Saturday 1st November saw the Ards Motorcycle Club hosting the annual “Irish Experts” trial at the spiritual home of motorcycle trials, the Leadmines, at Whitespots Newtownards.

The club put immense effort into making this an event fitting of the history of the “Experts” and judging by the comments of a cross section of the competitors they succeeded!!

All grades were catered for and a measure of the event and possibly the venues standing in trials is an entry field of just over 80 riders attending from all over the island, North and South.

The event started at 10:30 am and the early running in the Experts grade was made by Harold McQuaid. Despite not competing at this level regularly of late Harold, at the halfway stage, was the clear leader on 3 marks, next was Andy Perry on 22 marks, followed by Sean Doyle and Stuart McClurg both on 23.    Harold continued to dominate despite a slip on lap three to finish the event on 17 marks, making him the clear winner ahead of Andy on 40 marks. Sean was third on 44 with Stuart on 50.

Harold McQuaid
Harold McQuaid

Grade B was a battle all the way between Jonny Hagan and Phillip Hanlon, with Mark Harris and Aaron Smyth chasing these two home!!  At the halfway stage Jonny led Phillip by 7 marks but at the end of the trial both riders had completed the 40 sections for a loss of 24 marks!! Jonny won though having had the most “cleans”, Mark was third on 36, with Aaron on 43.

Grade C is always a close fought grade and this proved no exception, any one of ten riders could have justifiably felt they were in with a chance of winning!!

However Robbie Jennings won the event having only “footed” once on the last lap, almost a perfect result, having had three clean laps.  Stephen Murphy and Stephen Cromie were tied at the end on 2 marks lost with Stephen McKee next on 4 marks

Grade D was also a tight grade with Allister Galloway running out winner on 2 marks, followed closely by David Glasgow on 3 with Carl Showbridge and Mark McNeill tied on 6!

In the youth grades Alexander Lennox had an excellent ride to win grade A on 47 marks having battled throughout with Ross Shoebridge and Josh Hanlon!  In fact Ross’ last lap of only 5 marks was the best of the day and was pivotal in securing him 2nd place!

In Youth B George Taylor was the clear winner over Adam Harris and Josh Clarke.

Youth C on the adult course was won by Scott Callaghan from Jay Pyper and Josh Pyper.

Youth C on the smaller course was won by Dylan Smyth from Jonathan King and Ross Allen.

Youth D was won by Shannon Smyth

Youth E was won by the youngest rider, Harry Smyth on his little Oset electric bike!



  1. Harold McQuaid 17
  2. Andy Perry 40
  3. Sean Doyle 44
  4. Stuart McClurg 50

Grade B

  1. Jonny Hagan 24
  2. Phillip Hanlon 24
  3. Mark Harris 36
  4. Aaron Smyth 43

Grade C 

  1. Robbie Jennings 1
  2. Stephen Murphy 2
  3. Stephen Cromie 2
  4. Stephen McKee 4

Grade D

  1. Allister Galloway 2
  2. David Glasgow 3
  3. Carl Shoebridge 6
  4. Mark McNeill 6

Youth grade winners

A Alexander Lennox

B George Taylor

C (adult course) Scott Callaghan

C (small course) Dylan Smyth

D Shannon Smyth

E Harry Smyth

Finally on behalf of Moto Trial NI, don’t forget the Youth event this Saturday at Bertie Moores, more details on the Moto Trial NI website or Facebook page!!

.. Robert Crawford & the Team @ Moto Trial NI

You might also like