Jack Price (JST Gas Gas UK) pulled even further ahead in the championship after taking his fourth consecutive win. Price continues to dominate the 2019 series and has now opened up a healthy lead over his nearest rival Toby Martyn (Beta).

With intermittent showers, but warm conditions, round five of this year’s championship was held near Bovey Tracey at Kelly’s Farm in Devon. Over three laps of 12 hazards, the course consisted of steep banks littered with tree roots and large rocks. With the trees shading them, the hazards became more slippery and challenging with each lap as mud carried onto the rocks.

Jack Price was in control from the start as he was the only rider not to concede a five mark penalty on his first lap while his closest rival, Toby Martyn, lay in second position on the same marks as Dan Peace. Pushing close to the time limit Price incurred an extra two time mark penalties.

On the second lap, Martyn made his intention of pushing for the victory clear, as he came fighting back to within a single mark of Price. With a final lap score of seven a determined Price pulled out a small advantage over Martyn to secure the victory by three marks.

Jack Price: “My battle with Toby Martyn was very close, but I was confident my skill and experience meant I could ‘out-point’ him.  The Michelin X-Light was my obvious choice of tyre and fitted to the Gas Gas they have given me the confidence and feedback to continue with the wins in this highly competitive 2019 championship.”

 The proposed 8 round championship will now take a break until the 28th July.

Round Five: The Anthony Rew Trial – 1: Jack Price (JST Gas Gas UK) 31; 2: Toby Martyn (Beta) 34; 3: Dan Peace (MRS Sherco) 44; 4: Jack Peace (MRS Sherco) 52; 5: Billy Green (RG Montesa/Honda UK) 59; 6: Jack Sheppard (MRS Sherco) 66; 7: Andy Chilton (BMS Scorpa) 84; 8: Hugo Jervis (TRRS UK) 129;

Trial GB Championship Positions – After Round 5 of 8

1: Jack Price (JST Gas Gas UK) 95; 2: Toby Martyn (Beta) 81; 3: Dan Peace (MRS Sherco) 71; 4: Jack Peace (MRS Sherco) 63; 5: Billy Green (RG Montesa/Honda UK) 49; 6: Andy Chilton (BMS Scorpa) 46; 7: Iwan Roberts (TRRS UK) 37; 8: Jack Sheppard (MRS Sherco) 37; 9: Hugo Jervis (TRRS UK) 35; 10: James Dabill (Beta) 20; 11: Tom Minta (BMS Scorpa) 16.


You might also like